Mizoram University was established on 25th April, 2000 by an Act of Parliament (Act No. 8 of 2000) as a Central University with its inherent objectives "to disseminate and advance knowledge by providing instructional and research facilities in branches of learning as it may deem fit, to make provisions for integrated courses in humanities, natural and physical & social sciences, forestry and other allied disciplines in the educational programmes of the University; to take appropriate measures for promoting innovations in teaching-disciplinary studies and research; to educate and train man-power in the development of the state of Mizoram; and to pay special attention to the improvement of the social and economic conditions and welfare of the people of the State, their intellectual, academic and cultural development".

It has 38 UG and PG Departments, a constituent college (Pachhunga University College) and 35 Degree Colleges and three Professional Institutes affiliated to it. Thirty-three academic departments are well distributed with Eight Schools of studies.. The university, since its inception, is striving hard to move ahead with the objectives of providing quality education to the youth of remotely located north east region of the country. It has witnessed rapid academic, administrative and infrastructural expansions during last decade. The Mizoram University was Ranked 67th under the University Category for the year 2020 by the National Institutional Ranking Framework, Ministry of Education, Govt. of India. Also received Grade "A" by the National Accreditation Council (NAAC), Bangalore in the year 2019.

Copyright@2020 NEAST